About Color Blindness and Its Varieties


There are several types of color blindness that people experience throughout the world, and they are very similar. The best way to explain color blindness is that the people who have it cannot see a section of the color spectrum. There are three different cones of light and color that the typical person can see, and when someone is color blind, they are missing one or more of those cones or they are misaligned. This means that they will see the object but the color will not appear the same as it would to someone who has all three of the cones functioning correctly.


Anomalous Trichromacy

This type of color blindness is when the person has all three cones, but one is out of alignment so it doesn’t see color the same way others see it. There are three types:

  1. Protanomaly: reduced sensitivity to red light
  2. Deuteranomaly:  reduced sensitivity to green light
  3. Tritanomaly: reduced sensitivity to blue light



Another category of color blindness is when the person is completely missing a cone of light perception rather than having it only misaligned. Here are the different kinds:

  1. Protanopia
  2. Deuteranopes
  3. Tritanopes

Each of these different types have their own set of colors and shades that are mixed up with other color and shades. Search online to see images of how people with these color blindness types see the world.



This type of color blindness is extremely rare and is also known as total color blindness. This is when the person has no ability to see color at all. Everything appears black, white, and different shades of gray.

Leave a Reply